Missing Some Freedom

Standard

Haven’t had much energy the last few days. It took all I had to write a post for you all yesterday. Just looking at the computer screen made my eyes strain and my vision go blurry. This is a problem I usually have when I get up and move around, this is the first time I have had it just sitting down. 

Been spending most my time in bed or on the couch this weekend. Hubby is great and won’t let me get up to do anything other than go to the potty. He is very worried, I can see it in his face. My blood pressure has been really low all weekend, averaging 75/44. The doctor has said on many occations that my low blood pressure is normal, dur to the medications I am on. Though it is usually low, this is a little lower than usual, so I have planned to make a call to my cardiologist tomorrow. 

We have adjusted my medication almost weekly, to try and get the right balance for my blood pressure, and my dizzy spells and vision problems. Eventually it has to all work out right. I just try to hold my head high and keep faith that it will all work out.

I really hope that the cardioversion takes care of some of these problems. It is so hard to be so young and full of energy, but not have the ability to get up and do all I want to do. Just the simplest activity and I start to lose my vision. It is like having a huge spotlight shinning in your face. Everything get’s super bright, and I can’t make out details on anything. I can see colors, but no faces, or specific shapes, I can’t read when it happens, and of course because of this I can’t safely drive anymore. 

It is hard to come to grips with the loss of such things. I have always been independent, I have always been the driver. From the time I started delivering pizza after high school, to the year trying my hand at cross-country truck driving, being behind the wheel has always been relaxing to me. Anytime I needed to relax I could just put on music and go for a drive. This has to be what I miss most. 

I was never a runner, of a sports player, or even an outdoor type person so it doesn’t bother me to much that the outdoors activities are so treacherous to me now. Just the fact that I can’t go off on my own and take a long country drive and clear my head…it isn’t the same when you have to be driven around. When you have a driver with you, it isn’t the same, you can’t just cry, or scream, or pray…you don’t have the freedom you do when it is just you alone.

This is what I honestly miss the most sometimes.

2 responses »

  1. There is so much that you have to give up with these conditions, but once to learn to accept it and find something else to focus on, it becomes easy. I naturally have low blood pressure, so when I went on the heart medications my blood pressure dropped to the 70s too. Although I did not experience what you feeling right now, just a little light headed, something that confused, and still confuses doctors. My blood pressure numbers are so low that people take it twice and I even had one nurse panic. My body eventually adjusted to the low numbers. I now can be in the low 70s and feel no change, unless I get up suddenly. The body and mind are such an amazing and adaptive thing. Hopefully yours will adapt or the mediations tweaked to your ideal dosage. I hope your procedure this week does bring some relief to all of your symptoms. I wish you only positive energy. All the best.

  2. Sweetie hang in there you are a fighter and things will get better.
    Thinking and praying for you always.

    Cindy
    (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

